Andrea Designs by Andrea Wagner

Hi there,
I learned to knit and crochet when I was in high school- about 14-15 years old-, I remember learning the basics and doing projects for the class, all that was put behind when the semester was over.

Years later, when I was 18 years old and started collage, I learned to use a knitting machine, I  loved what I just found, be able to create something that fit  me. I have been all my life really slim – my mom made all my clothing-, when I tried to find cloths for me in the stores nothing fit me, they were big, I was a size 0 and 5.4″ height and living in Lima, Peru, South America where the women have curves.


Like they said the need make you creative or adapt what you have to your own good. Learning to knit gave me new horizons; I was able to make my wardrobe from sweaters to party dresses. It was easy to saw my skirts by hand and knit a sweater to my like and to look good.

When I got married to my husband, an American,  and came to live in the States, I didn’t bring my knitting machine, I thought I will buy a new one in the USA. As a present, when I arrived to this country in 1988, my husband had a new knitting machine waiting for me, I was so happy, with the excitement to make clothing for myself and some sweaters for him.  However, I was not able to do anything with it, the knitting machine stayed in the garage for years until we gave it away.

I always wanted to have my own business,  wanted so much to work from home doing something that I enjoy. The first step was to buy a knitting machine and make scarves and sell them. I bought the knitting machine, next step to look for yarn, I found them online, -in Peru, I used alpaca fiber, wool and acrylic- what I found it was a new world of amazing fiber and color, and bought these beautiful  yarns. However, they were not good to use in the knitting machine, they were bulky.  Nevertheless, I already was in love with these yarns and I wanted to use them, my only option was to begin hand knitting again with the needles and crochet hook.


In my creations, I use the best material I can find, like alpaca fiber, French angora, merino fiber, wool, Italian and French acrylic, cotton, including silk flowers, buttons, and fabric. Besides knitting and crocheting I also love beads, I made bracelets, earrings and necklaces. I make scarves, shawls, ponchos, hats, bags, gloves and in jewelry bracelets, necklaces, earrings, and some pins for the hats and the shawls. My product is beautiful, of great quality and enhance any wardrobe.
I’m always in the process of learning new techniques adapting those to what I know.

Two years ago, I (Andrea Designs)  had the opportunity to be part of THE ARTISAN GROUP  (TAG),  an exclusive premiere entertainment marketing organization on a mission to introduce Hollywood to the best-of-the-best in handcrafted products. Collectively, along with  members, we provide a lovely sampling of handcrafted products to hit television shows, celebrities, press and media, and other VIPs at top gifting suites.

Andrea Designs (Me) in August 22 and August 23, 2014, in association with THE ARTISAN GROUP ,  will participate in an invitation-only luxury celebrity gift lounge hosted by GBK Productions at an exclusive location in Beverly Hills, California, in honor of The 2014 Primetime Emmy Awards Nominees and Presenters. All attending celebrities will receive my Spa set of washcloth in their swag bags.

and, I will have in display my WOW SCARF

 

Follow me Online at:
Facebook

Twitter

Pinterest

Amazine

Polyvore 

 

 

Andrea Designs is the Artfire crazy train guild rider for August 22 to August 24, a collection was created to showcase the studio:

Thank you for the visit. Regards, Andrea W.

This entry was posted in Fashion, Handmade, jewelry, ooak, Spa, textil and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Andrea Designs by Andrea Wagner

  1. Thank you, Jamie! Check this link http://youtu.be/jPPK1P4LZ5M, my scarf is on the left side of the display . Now waiting to see who took a photo with it.

  2. Amazing opportunity!!!! Congrats! I admire your passion and workmanship!

Leave a Reply

